Middlewick Banner
Middlewick Holiday Cottages
Middlewick Holiday Cottage in Glastonbury
Glastonbury Bed and Breakfast
Order In Your Eats
Beauty Treatments
Glastonbury Holidays and Breaks
Glastonbury, Somerset, B & B
Somerset Holiday Cottages
Glastonbury Holiday Cottages Availability
Wedding venue in Glastonbury
Holidays in Glastonbury
B & B in Glastonbury
Holiday Cottages and Bed & Breakast in Glastonbury, Somerset
Middlewick Glastonbury Pet Policy
Glastonbury Cottages to let
Glastonbury Holiday Cottages
Contact Middlewick Holiday Cottages

internet
access in all cottages

01458 832351
8:00am - 8:00pm

hello@themiddlewick.co.uk

Testimonials

Here are a selection of testimonials and comments from our guest books and emails from guests. Some relate to family stays, others to group visits. We hope they give you a flavour of Middlewick and the sights and sounds around us.

Dear Denise, Jill and the Middlewick team,

We wanted to say a huge thank you for hosting our work retreat on 18th and 19th March. Your cottages, camping pods and the function room were perfect for our party of 32 and all you were all very helpful and accommodating to our needs. We had a fun and productive time, and it was very beneficial to get everyone out of Bristol and into the country to focus on working as an integrated team. The Ceilidh in particular went very well. I will certainly be recommending Middlewick to my colleagues at Bristol.

The only problem for me is that this event was such a success that we are sure to have a bigger sign up next year. 

All best wishes

Lindsey G, University of Bristol (March 2014)

Dear Jonathan and Jill and all staff at Middlewick
We stayed in Cider House week of 5th August 2013 and absolutely loved it . It was perfect for V and I and our daughter J . Cider House was lovely and just right for the 3 of us ,with beautiful views of the Mendips .We swam in the pool each day which was a wonderful facility. Butterflies fluttering around buddleia outside bedroom window every day . Loved it all and will definitely be back.
Thank you for providing such a great quality and beautiful place.
Hazel B-C

Myself and family have just stayed in Meadow Barn - Monday to Friday. Booked in my daughter's name of S. Just wanted to say that we had a lovely time and your accommodation was second to none.  Loved it. (Sue L, Meadow Barn 1st to 5th July 2013)

Hello! Just a quick note to say a big 'thank you' for a super few days in the eco-pod.  We had a lovely time and I for one never wanted to go home!  Sadly we had to drive back to London far earlier than seemed wise on a beautiful sunny New Year's Day, so I hope you found our keys tucked away.

Best wishes, Helen C. E-den Eve 29 Dec 1 Jan 2013)

Dear Denise and Jill and co. I wanted to thank you all for such a super stay.  We had such fun and really enjoyed your farm, the animals and the beautifully appointed Meadow Barn.Thank you.  You have a beautiful farm. Frances

(From Frances C. Meadow Barn 11 13 Jan 2013) 

Dear Jill and Jonathan. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay this past week end at your beautiful Middlewick. We were part of Alison M's group. We loved the surrounding countryside and Meadow Barn is so attractive, well-equipped and inviting. We were very comfortable indeed. All very hard to fault. Lovely comfy beds...the pool was fabulous and so warm and clean and the function room the best I've come across in a holiday cottage complex...wonderfully well equipped. Look forward to returning in due course!With all good wishes for a successful summer,

Jenny C. Part of Alison M's Group 23 26 March 2012)

Hi Jill. Many thanks for a superb weekend at Middlewick, we had a fantastic time and my Mum had a great birthday. Thank you to you and your team for all your help and support, we are all very grateful.

Warm regards,Roz Y. Group/24 27 Feb 2012)

Dear all at Middlewick. Just wanted to say that we had a really lovely and relaxing stay over the weekend 10th to 12th February.  We were very lucky to have been upgraded to Tor View as Appletree wasn't refurbished in time and so appreciated the added bonus of a wood burner at a time when it had been snowing and was a particularly cold weekend!  We were cosy and warm and appreciated the beautiful surroundings and the amazing view of the Tor. Being able to bring our collie dog too was great.  The accommodation was very comfortable, well furnished and you have thought of every need. We are glad to have found you and will be looking forward to staying with you again in the future. Many thanks and best wishes. D & J (& Megs) Feb 2012

Many thanks for a superb weekend at Middlewick, we had a fantastic time and my Mum had a great birthday. Thank you to you and your team for all your help and support, we are all very grateful. My Mum is very worried because apparently she left some bread in the bread bin in Cider House and is most anxious that I let you know in case in isn't discovered! - RY Feb 2012

What a find, felt at home within moments of arrival. We will be back. Janice and Dave, January 2012.

We are in our final day of Glastonbury, cooking up breakfast (aided by your local produce) and looking out over the garden. This place is beautiful and what you have made here is heaven. We will be back here in 2013 and I'm bringing the rest of my Mumford boys with me. Ben Lovett June 2011

It's our last day at Glastonbury and I will be really sad to leave. I will beg my parents to let us come back. We came last year and stayed in a different cottage which was equally amazing. I have really enjoyed it. Love the horses, dog and goat. Sophie aged 11, August 2011

Such lovely cottages in a stunningly picturesque location. We have enjoyed the short but sweet stay and this is a wonderful place. The Supper Club is a lovely idea and we loved the community atmopshere. We hope to return in 2013. Thank you for an amazing stay. We loved the goat and the gorgeous Maggie. Liv, Poppy & Mummy, August 2011

Had a great time. Fred, our dog had many fascinating sniffs! Look forward to coming again. James & Sophie (and Fred the dog) August 2011.

A beautiful place to rest, regenerate and escape. Loved the views of the Tor, the horses and the cheeky goat! We are sad to leave this magical place, wish we could have stayed longer... Sarah & Mark, November 2011

Thankyou for a lovely relaxing stay at Middlewick. We've really enjoyed the cabin and exploring Glastonbury and Wells. Will loved chatting to the friendly goat. A really peaceful spot with gorgeous views to the Tor - if only the weather had been better we may even have braved a walk to the top, but instead we loved having a swim in the pool. Emma, Mark & Will, December 2011

Great view! Lovely silence! Charming woodburner! We saw an owl! Happy Days. Lorraine, January 2012

We had a magical stay with all our family. The children loved the pool and pizza night and attending to all the animals, We loved the views, walks and clean friendly atmosphere. Hope to be back to stay again soon. September 2011

A magical place where the children feel safe swimming, walking and playing. Pizza evenings are a great social gathering ideal to meet other guests. Thank you Jill and the team for making us feel so welcome. See you all in October! Jon and Elani August 2011

Many thanks for a terrific time. Friendly welcome, cosy cottage, perfect location. I am sure this will be the first of many visits. Don't forget to use the Farm Shop - cheese and wines, delightfully yummy! December 2011

Wow what a stunning place to stay in Glastonbury! We really enjoyed the Appletree Cottage, it's perfect for a cosy  night in. We only stayed for one night but we will without doubt be back in the future. Thank you for such a warm welcome. Sarah, Dave and Rufus October 2011

Second time back at lovely Appletree cottage. Just as lovely as before. Very welcoming atmosphere, beautiful dog Maggie! Blessed with lovely warm unbroken sunshine just to top off a perfect break away from home. PERFECT ALL ROUND! Thank you. Sonya, Lucy and Noreen, Easter 2011

Good for the soul! I'll be back... July 2011

We came to stay here on a Familymoon with our two year old daughter after our wedding. Lovely flowers and bottle of sparkling wine on arrival to congratulate us. Comfortable and relaxing cottage in beautiful surroundings, lovely pool and great atmosphere. We will come again. James, Lucy and Ruby, September 2011

Lovely fairytale cottage, really peaceful and relaxing. Beautiful swimming pool. Annabelle, September 2011

We've had an amazing few days here. The stay in Bramley was lovely and the animals were a personal highlight for me. The staff and team were super helpful. All in all it has been a truly magical few days. I have stayed in so many hotels and guest houses and I can honestly say that this has been the standout of all of them. We will be back for sure! July 2011

A magical retreat and wonderful honeymooon hideaway. Even though it's only been 3 nights it has felt like much longer wind down. Thankyou for your most attentive hospitality and kind loan of your map. Thank you to Benji the goat for keeping our 7 month old little girl enthralled over a sunny  breakfast in the garden. Roberts Family August 2011

Another lovely peaceful week at Middlewick. Pizza evening was much appreciated by all 8 of us staying in Bramley and Springfield. This place is unique and lovely. The Wilds and Beadells, September 2011

Thankyou. Lovely peacefully fab place and cosy cottage in amazing environment. Good place for a gathering of friends, healing and processing. November 2011

Thanks for such a lovely stay! The farm atmosphere was the perfect foil to London and our boys want to live here! Dave, Beck and family, September 2011

Magical Middlewick! Thank you for a wonderful stay, as you said the cottage must have been waiting for us! It made our weekend in Glastonbury very special and a haven from the mud at the festival. June 2011

A fantastic stay in lovely accommodation with wonderful staff. I can't think of a single fault - fantastic, fantastic, fantastic! The Thomas Family July 2011

A family get together at Middlewick. The pool time sessions were filled with fun from the very youngest to the very oldest. Great to find a pool so well maintained and the addition of the steam room gave the experience a special attraction. Hedgecock Family, June 2011

Dear Jill,

Just a big thank you really you were so friendly and made us feel so welcome and we loved the cottage and our stay your hospitaility which does not normally come with most places we have stayed at and we will most definately be back real soon!

We both felt sad leaving and don't think Ive felt that way about many places that we have been to before.

Thanks again for the tour of all the cottages it was really nice to have a good look around and we will bring our swimmys next time for sure.

Best wishes and Love to Maggie the adorable Labridoodle:) xx

Jo

A much need break away coincided with discovering this little ‘haven’ by chance on the internet. We didn’t look any further and the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. We have never felt so relaxed, so at peace or slept better, not to mention Wendy’s legendry breakfast (we couldn’t understand what the fuss was about until we sampled our own - beautiful!

We walked to the Tor this morning, then in to the High Street and back home with Jim, the taxi driver. (Recommended by the staff at MapleLeaf Middlewick). And what a sweetie!! He gave us a grand tour with lots of funny tales in to the bargain.

Last night we went to the Riverside Indian Restaurant ...very nice!

Departing now and although looking forward to seeing our three little boys it hasn’t seemed enough time to get to know this really magical, beautiful part of the world!
We will hopefully be back soon with our kids, grandparents and brother/sister!! (Don’t think they will need much persuasion).

Thank you for making us feel so welcome and comfortable and our stay such a very happy one celebrating out 10th wedding anniversary.

With love and thanks,
Mandy & Matt

Dear Middlewick...

I wish to say thank you very much for the stay at your cottages. Your kind welcome and the comfortable surroundings made for a happy break from the rat-race.

Thank you once again and have a good year.

David & Miki

For the second time in nine months I have returned to Middlewick to replenish what a big city can take out of you and it worked and I couldn't think of a better place in which to do it. Once again the beauty of the area, the peace and solitude of Middlewick and the Mendips worked their magic and by the end of my visit I felt refreshed and centered.

One of my fondest memories of my stay at Middlewick was of taking my morning coffee out to the Quiet Garden, a beautiful area where trees and the softness of green abound and rejuvenate. I loved to sit there and listen to the silence with only the sound of birds to add to the atmosphere. Part of my morning entertainment was to watch one of the horses kept in the adjacent field munch on grass or run around, whatever the horse decided to do on my morning coffee visit was always part of the anticipation and joy.

It truly is a perfect setting, from the sweet cottages to the surrounding beauty and the great people who work there. I have no doubt in my mind that I will be back many, many times.

Brenda
Toronto, Canada


Having arrived at midnight the first night, I hadn't a clue what the grounds looked like. When I awoke the next morning and sat up to look out the window, I gasped at the beauty before me. There is the most spectacular, knotty old moss-covered tree right outside my window, with the rolling Mendip Hills in the background. Then I saw the horses! Actually, every window in our cottage offered a view of either horses and paddocks, hills, apple orchards and/or the Tor. Had I actually woken up in Avalon?

Shirley


Thank you for our lovely relaxing week (24th - 30th June) in Orchard View. John and I really enjoyed our stay and appreciated the calm and tranquil atmosphere of Middlewick.
The cottage was clean, light, airy, comfortable and well equipped.
The service you give is very helpful, efficient and organised.
Having the groceries delivered and unpacked before our arrival was a bonus. I would thoroughly recommend this service to anyone, especially if unfamiliar with the area and/or travelling from far away.

The holiday was just what we needed after a very busy and at times stressful, last few years. As soon as we had unloaded the car, we took a cup of tea into the quiet corner of the garden and just felt all the stress and tension drain away. The atmosphere just bathed us in blissful tranquillity and peace.

We live in a Rural area, but adjacent to a busy bypass road, so it was truly a home from home, but without the traffic noise and with all the plus points of peace and tranquillity etc. mentioned above.

We would have loved to stay longer and hope we may be able to visit again sometime.

May we wish you all the very best for your plans for the future, may you thrive and prosper and continue to provide a wonderful place for people to find the peace and tranquillity that is so often needed, if only for a while, in today's busy world.

Love, Light and Bright Blessings

Patricia


My family and I are coming back to Mapleleaf Middlewick for our third visit. We love the Glastonbury area, and have found there is nothing to compare with the tranquil beauty and location of Mapleleaf Middlewick. We stay in a cottage called Blenheim, it is full of atmosphere and is absolutely charming. A fabulous inglenook fireplace sits in the very generously proportioned living room, with windows looking out over the 'quiet meditation garden'. There is a wonderful sense of peace and tranquillity. On reading the Guest Book, it seems everyone falls in love with this beguiling little cottage. We have two children and having a swimming pool on site, together with an extensive library of books and videos was a real bonus. The cottage complex is set is a truly beautiful setting and is further enhanced with the views of the magical Glastonbury Tor. It is perfect for couples or families.

From the cottage complex there is a very special walk to the Tor, through an apple orchard, across a wooded stream, over fields where horses graze peacefully and up to the ancient knarled oak trees, Gog and Magog, who have stood there for over 2000 years. You then walk up a hillside and on turning around seeing where you have come from you get the most magnificent view of The cathedral city of Wells. On this route the Tor tantalizingly appears in and out view. The walk takes you across powerful ley lines. On reaching the top of the Tor there is an unparralled 360 degree view of the Somerset levels, bathed in the early evening light it is a glorious sight.

Glastonbury is a very unique place, steeped in myth and legend. Glastonbury Abbey and the Chalice Well Gardens, are absolutely wonderful. The High Street is like no other, an abundant mix of eclectic 'New Age' shops and cafes.
The cottages are also ideally placed for visiting the beautiful little cathedral city of Wells, the magnificent Cheddar Gorge and Wookey Hole caves.

A visit to Glastonbury is certainly a memorable and unique experience, and Mapleleaf Middlewick has become our absolute favourite cottage holiday.

Eily & Gary



When I first booked the cottage at Middlewick for a Christmas holiday I knew my sister and I would be in for a treat but I never expected to be surrounded by such exceptional beauty. We had arrived late at night and the next morning when I drew the curtains back in my bedroom I literally gasped, for outside my window was an apple orchard with horses lazily grazing. It was right out of a postcard! And all of MapleLeaf Middlewick is surrounded by such sights. It is truly fantastic! For walks we would take the winding path towards Glastonbury which went past the Tor, farms with sheep and cows and incredible views of the Mendips. All I could think was that if it is this beautiful in winter I can’t wait to see this place in the summer!

Our cottage, Blenheim, was incredibly sweet and picturesque. Groceries that we ordered were there waiting for us, put away in the shelves and fridge. A sweet Christmas tree was in the living room. It was really charming and I felt very comfortable and at home.

We had such a good time we are returning in September. I think that this will be a place that will become a second home for me!

Brenda